IEEE OES is pleased to provide five young investigator grants to Students and Postdocs to support their participation in the 2019 CWTMA Workshop.

Each grant awardee receives up to $1000 toward travel expenses (transportation and hotel). To qualify for the grant, the applicant must submit an abstract by Monday, December 3, 2018, be the first author, and present the paper at the workshop. On submission, please email the Student Contact at, requesting consideration for the young investigator grant. The Technical Committee will review the abstracts and award grants to the top five abstracts submitted by Monday, December 17, 2018.

Grant recipient: please remember that to be reimbursed for your travel expenses (up to $1000) you must:

  1. Submit your final paper by Sunday, February 10, 2019
  2. Present your paper at the workshop
  3. Submit a receipt for your expenses to Judy Rizoli at the on-site registration desk or by email within 1 week after the workshop to

Past Student Grant Awardees:

Daniel Ellis, University of California Santa Barbara, “Improved Methods to Calculate Depth-Resolved Velocities from Glider-Mounted ADCPs”.

Mathew Archer, RSMAS, Uni. of Miami, “Evaluation of Wave Height and Current Velocity Measurements from High Frequency Radar using an In-situ Subsurface Mooring”.

Elizabeth Livermont, Stevens Institute of Technology, “Trends and Changes in the NDBC Wave Records of the U.S. East Coast”.

Hanna Torrens-Spence, Queen’s University Belfast, “Current and Turbulence Measurement with Collocated ADP, ADV and Turbulence Profiler Data”.

Suren Vasilyan, TU Ilmenu, Germany, “Direct force compensation on Lorentz force flowmeters for electrolyte flow measurements”.